About NYS armed guard training:
Our firearms and Executive/Dignitary Protection instructors are among the very best in the world! They will go beyond the minimum training guidelines giving you additional tactical instruction that may keep you alive someday.
I. To work as an armed guard in New York State, you will need to take an approved NYS Forty-Seven (47) hour firearms course. We generally conduct this course on weekend days over a period of time.
II. Once you have the armed guard license you will need to take an Eight Hour Annual In-Service Training Course for Armed Guards each year.
For more information about armed training, please call us at (631) 991-2620.
NYS FORTY-SEVEN HOUR FIREARMS COURSE PREREQUISITES PURSUANT TO NEW YORK STATE LAW AND THE RULES OF THE NEW YORK STATE DIVISION OF CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES:
Important: In order to take the 47 hour firearms course, you will first need to possess the following:
(1) A valid unarmed New York State Security guard license (also known as a "registration card"). You must have the actual license in your hand, not just a training certificate.
(3) A duty-type weapon with a caliber of 9mm or higher (smaller calibers are not acceptable for this course according to state regulations).
These are THE RULES of the New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS), not ours, so please do not present arguments to us.
We also agree with them and this is why . . .
These rules were promulgated by DCJS for very good reason: To ensure that both you and the general public will be better protected from those offering substandard, overpriced, and unauthorized training! Previously there were many problems, especially in and around the New York City area with firearms training.
NOTE: Due to the above recent rule changes promulgated by the NYS Division of Criminal Justice Services we cannot accept online applications for armed training courses, and must verify the course prerequisites as delineated in items 1-3 above in person.
Although we charge a very reasonable and affordable rate for the 47 hour firearms course, we also issue the following items to you for no additional charge:
1. Hearing protection.
2. Eye protection.
3. A New York State Penal Law book.
4. Dummy rounds to practice clearing jams with.
5. An NRA tactical shooting manual.
The student must provide their own transportation to the classroom and range (Calverton), and provide their own lunch (there are many restaurants in the classroom area or you may bring a bag lunch unless if prefer to).
Note: The student provides their own ammunition for these courses, and pays their own range fee which is approximately $15. With individual ammunition, range and tuition fees added up the armed courses can cost the student anywhere from approximately $150 to approximately $600 depending where the student purchases their ammo from, and whether the Eight Hour Annual In-Service Course for Armed Security Guards or the Forty-Seven Hour Firearms Course is chosen.
E.g., the Eight Hour In-Service Course for Armed Guards is $100 + $15 range fee + approximately $35 for 150 rounds of 9mm Luger ammo (this can be purchased cheaper from certain sources) = $150
IF YOU MEET THE ABOVE PREREQUISITES FOR FIREARMS COURSES YOU MAY CALL FOR MORE INFORMATION ABOUT RATES AND SCHEDULING AN APPOINTMENT TO ENROLL IN ONE OF THE COURSES.
Tactical Firearms Training:
We also offer a number of tactical firearms courses (rifles, pistols, and shotguns) through the NRA and other organizations. These courses have nothing to do with basic NYS DCJS certified security guard training and are geared for law enforcement, military and licensed security personnel that have advanced positions that require tactical training.
Note: For handgun training in New York State you must possess a valid New York State pistol permit pursuant to NYS Penal Law Section 400. In other words, you can get arrested for trying to handle any handgun without one, and you are not allowed to even handle a handgun at the range or go to the firing line. For more information about this you may check with your local police department.
In other states where we may conduct training, check with your local or state authorities about handgun training requirements. Most states require some type of permit to possess handguns.
For more information please contact us at
(631) 482-0075 or (631) 991-2620 today!